Intro

Hello, everyone. My name is Jim, but you can address me as Countdown Kid if you’d like. Granted, I’m well past kid age, but the original name for the site, Song Countdowns, was already taken, so here we are. CK, Kid, or Jim will work as well, although I’m sure that you’ll be calling me all sorts of names once this site gets up and running.

The purpose of this blog is to serve as a repository for my song countdowns. I originally did some for a now-defunct site called JamsBio.com. My first detailed the 185 official Beatles releases written by the group, and it did well enough that they asked me to write some more. Following that, I added countdowns of Bruce Springsteen, The Rolling Stones, and Radiohead. Once I moved on to a new site, Culture Map.com, I added a Tom Petty countdown as well. If you search that site, you’ll find the Springtsteen, Radiohead, and Petty lists. I won’t link it, since the lists are a bit hard to navigate, which is part of the reason for this blog:  One-stop shopping for my long-windedness.

Ideally, this site will serve as a place for these lists and the new lists I plan to do, starting with the Bob Dylan Top 200 countdown that is in the offing. I’ll also throw in some reviews here and there and other posts when I’m feeling it. Basically, like any frustrated writer, I want to be my own editor and have a place to spew. If nothing else comes of this, it will still have served its purpose.

I plan on staying pretty regular with these posts, hopefully knocking off a few songs every day. These lists are all my own, no other opinion but mine, so place all credit and blame firmly on these shoulders. The lists that I’ve done in the past were pretty well-received, generating a lot of commentary and even getting me a few tangential brushes with the artists I profiled. (Julian Lennon commented on the Beatles list, and my Springsteen list caught the attention of his biographer Dave Marsh, who had me as a  guest on his radio show.)

If you remember anything else from this intro, please let it be this:  These lists are less criticism than celebration. The music of these artists has meant so much to me in my own life, so much so that my own personal experiences will no doubt make my way into the reasoning for these rankings. I’m a fan, first and foremost, and I hope that fans will be ones who respond to this blog with the passion that all great music engenders.

With that in mind, let’s get’s this started, shall we? Or, as our first subject once said, “Come on out, the dark is beginning.”

One Comment on “Intro”

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

