Wrapping Up Springsteen…and What’s Next

Hello, followers. I’m sorry I’ve kept blog silence the past few days; busy with other stuff. I wanted to write a quick post to thank everyone who followed the Springsteen countdown. It was a lot of fun to update it with the new stuff from Wrecking Ball, and it was also a little sad to consider that, when I originally did this list a few years back, The Big Man was still with us. Still, The Boss is currently sailing through another mega-successful tour, so that’s a good thing.

As I said in the intro to the countdown, the Springsteen list was originally a Top 200. I’ve decided to keep the blog to 100 from now on, but I’m going to publish the full list, which will now be at about 210 or so with the Wrecking Ball stuff added, so those of you wondering where songs like “The Rising” that didn’t make the Top 100 stack up can see the answer. I’ll try to have that for you early next week.

As for what’s next, I’m leaning toward updating the Radiohead list I did for the website that used to employ me. I would update it to include the songs from King Of Limbs, which has been released in the interim. As much as I love the classic rock acts I’ve profiled so far, this site will ideally include the newer artists who can stand in the same company as those greats. I consider Radiohead to be one of those, so that’s what’s next, probably in a couple weeks.

After that, I’d like to do an original list if I can, depending on my other writing assignments (which you can check out at American Songwriter magazine under my alter-ego, Jim Beviglia.) Elvis Costello is one that I’ve been dreaming of doing for a while, a personal favorite of mine. I’d also love to take a crack at The Stones and Pink Floyd. And, if time constraints force me to hold off on an original, I’ve also got a Top 100 of Tom Petty in the can that I can trot out. Bottom line is that the site should be very active in the coming months.

Thanks so much again to all the commenters and readers. It is always humbling to realize that people are interested to hear what I have to say about this stuff. And, as I’ve said at the end of the other lists, even when they disagree, my readers are extremely respectful and civil in the way that they propose their disagreeing views. In a world of internet hostility, I can’t tell you all how much I appreciate that.

So, stay tuned, and all the best until we talk again.

7 Comments on “Wrapping Up Springsteen…and What’s Next”

  1. Jokerwoman says:

    Hi Kid,
    As always, a wonderful compilation. Thanks for your insights. Best, Jokerwoman

  2. John Mitchell says:

    Love the Elvis Costello idea…will be a challenge for you as his catalog is vast. Pink Floyd is a great choice as well.

    Based on your current lists and planned lists, you have almost my entire top ten artists covered.

    Beatles, The
    Dylan, Bob
    Rolling Stones, The
    Springsteen, Bruce
    R.E.M.
    Costello, Elvis
    Kinks, The
    Who, The
    Smiths, The
    Petty, Tom

    Any plans to do REM, The Kinks, The Who and The Smiths down the road?

    • countdownkid says:

      REM and The Who are certainly doable. The Kinks I love, but I’d have to do a lot of research because of how much stuff they’ve released and the unwieldiness of it all what with singles and different releases in different countries and stuff. I’m not so sure about The Smiths; while I like them, I don’t have a real passion for them and don’t know their album cuts all that well.

      • John Mitchell says:

        Jim,

        I emailed you a spreadsheet with Kinks songs broken down by their British releases. Did you get it?

        John

      • countdownkid says:

        John,

        I’m guessing you sent it to the countdownkid e-mail. I don’t check that too often when I’m in between lists, but I will when I get the chance.

        You really want that list bad, don’t you? I can’t promise you when it will happen, but it will be one of the ones I think about doing when I have more time. Right now, I’m polishing the Dylan list for a publisher (keep your fingers crossed), so that’s taking up my spare time.

        Have a good one.

        Jim

        > Date: Tue, 9 Oct 2012 14:39:39 +0000 > To: jimbeviglia@hotmail.com >

  3. I’d love to see an Elvis Costello list. I’ve tried to do one myself, and it’s not easy.


Leave a Reply

