On Tom Petty

Today we are about to embark upon our next epic list, in this case the Top 100 songs of Tom Petty. This list originally appeared for a website named CultureMap.com. I have done an edit of the material but the list is essentially the same as it appeared then since Tom hasn’t released any new material since, so if you happened across it back then, it will be awful familiar for you.
As it didn’t get a lot of publicity, however, I’m guessing it will be new to most of you. Tom Petty has been so steadily brilliant over the years that I feel like a lot of people almost take him for granted. They shouldn’t. In my book, he is one of the all-time greats, both in terms of his songwriting and his outstanding studio recordings of those songs, both with and without the Heartbreakers.
As always, this list is a celebration of the artist more than anything else. I welcome any comments, even if you think I’m way off base with my rankings. I plan on counting down five songs each weekday, so those of you planning to tune in along the way will know what to expect.
So enjoy the list, and, if you can, read while the music is playing. My humble words cannot do justice to this amazing catalog of songs, but I’ll do the best I can.

(E-mail the author at countdownkid@hotmail.com.)

2 Comments on “On Tom Petty”

  1. B. Egan says:

    Whoo Hoo and here we GO! Another list– so happy LISTening. Thanks, CDK.


Leave a Reply

