Tom Petty Countdown #72: “The Trip’s To Pirate Cove”

Filled with mischievous preachers and loose women, “The Trip To Pirate’s Cove” is a quasi-mystical road trip to Santa Cruz that enlivens Mojo. It’s an odd combination of Springsteen’s “Spirit In The Night” and The Doors’ “Riders On The Storm,” but it works in spite of those seemingly clashing elements.

The relentless groove has a somewhat sinister edge to it, echoing the dead ends that Petty and his buddy seem to encounter in the song. Meanwhile, the spooky keyboard parts of Benmont Tench give the song its distinctively eerie edge.

Striking out in a Defender, Petty and his pal run across all sorts of unsavory characters and bizarre situations, and you can tell that the songwriter has his tongue partly in his cheek throughout. He drops a few killer lines throughout (“She was a part of my heart/Now she’s just a line in my face,”) and somehow, in spite of the unusual events, seems almost nostalgic for this trip to nowhere. I guess I can see why; if it was half as fun to experience as it is to listen to, “The Trip To Pirate’s Cove” must have been a blast.

(E-mail the author at countdownkid@hotmail.com.)

2 Comments on “Tom Petty Countdown #72: “The Trip’s To Pirate Cove””

  1. Lynette says:

    After I originally commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is
    added I get four emails with the exact same comment. Is there an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

    • countdownkid says:

      I think you have to do it on your end somehow. I checked but I can’t seem to figure out a way to do it on my end. Sorry about that. Maybe mark the e-mails as spam somehow and then you won’t get them in your inbox.

      Hope you keep checking out the site though.


Leave a Reply

