Tuesday Touts: March 24, 2015

Well, the post yesterday should let you know that I’m back after a long hiatus. I apologize for such an extended silence, which was necessitated by the demands of finishing my new book (stay tuned for details soon) and deadlines for other writing and the business of life in general. But I’ve made a spring resolution, if there is such a thing, to keep this blog updated with my long-winded opinions on music new and old, so I’m back, and it’s good to be back.

Anyway, some of these touts are a bit longer in the tooth than usual, but that’s because I’ve accumulated a lot of stuff over the past months that I’ve really enjoyed. So, without further ado, here are four pieces of new music to which I’ve been grooving, as well as one that maybe slipped between the cracks in its original day.

“The Lake Song” by The Decemberists: In actuality, the entirety of The Decemberists’ excellent new album What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World has been on constant replay in the CK household. I’m spotlighting this one because it’s absolutely mesmerizing, a spot-on homage to the dreamy folk of Nick Drake featuring some of Colin Meloy’s most heartfelt lyrics. This one is a true beauty, one of the best things I’ve heard this year.

“He’s Got You” by Rhiannon Giddens: Maybe you know Giddens from her work with the Carolina Chocolate Drops. Her solo album Tomorrow Is My Turn, which received the ultimate Americana stamp from the production of T Bone Burnett, is one you should seek out. My favorite is her soulful take on She’s Got You, written by Hank Cochran and made famous by Patsy Cline. That’s how you interpret a song, folks.

Short Movie by Laura Marling: There’s so much music around these days that it’s easy to miss out on a great artist. I feel like I’ve done just that with Marling, the British singer-songwriter whose work has always received critical acclaim. Luckily, I got a listen to her new album Short Movie, and now I want to go back through the rest of her catalog as soon as possible. The album is out today, and the title track, which you can check out below, is just one of many standout tracks on the disc.

Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit by Courtney Barnett: I had the chance to review this album, out today, for American Songwriter, which, as a big fan of Barnett’s earlier songs like “Avant Gardener”, was a treat. The album doesn’t disappoint, as it’s filled with the Australian performer’s unique songwriting talent. She takes the mundane details of everyday life and teases magic from them, like on the song below, “Depreston”, in which house-hunting reveals just how disposable our lives can seem.

The Reconsider Me Tout of the Week- There’s Gonna Be A Storm: The Complete Recordings 1966-69 by The Left Banke: With the passing last week of chief songwriter Michael Brown, who wrote hits like “Walk Away Renee” and “Pretty Ballerina”, when he was still a teenager. The band imploded far too soon after their initial success, but the band’s string-laden, ultra-melodic pop is all over this compilation, and it still sounds marvelous today.

(E-mail me at countdownkid@hotmail.com or follow me on Twitter @JimBeviglia.)

http://www.amazon.com/Counting-Down-Bruce-Springsteen-Finest/dp/1442230657

http://www.amazon.com/Counting-Down-Bob-Dylan-Finest/dp/0810888238

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment on “Tuesday Touts: March 24, 2015”

  1. markrb1 says:

    Good to have you back Jim!


Leave a Reply

